
ATTACHMENT P – LIVING WAGE REQUIREMENTS 

 
Living Wage Requirements for Service Contracts 

 
A. This contract is subject to the Living Wage requirements under Title 18, State 

Finance and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland and the 
regulations proposed by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry. The Living 
Wage generally applies to a Contractor or Subcontractor who performs work 
on a State contract for services that is valued at $100,000 or more. An 
employee is subject to the Living Wage if he/she is at least 18 years old or 
will turn 18 during the duration of the contract; works at least 13 consecutive 
weeks on the State Contract and spends at least one-half of the employee’s 
time during any work week on the State Contract.  The Living Wage Law 
does not apply to an employee who works less than thirteen consecutive 
weeks and full-time on a contract subject to the Living Wage.  

 
B. The Living Wage Law does not apply to: 

 
(1)  A Contractor who: 
   

(A)  has a State contract for services valued at less than $100,000, 
or 

 
(B) employs 10 or fewer employees and has a State contract for 

services valued at less than $500,000. 
   
       (2)  A Subcontractor who:  

 
(A) performs work on a State contract for services valued at less 

than $100,000, 
 

(B) employs 10 or fewer employees and performs work on a 
State contract for services valued at less than $500,000, or 

 
  (C) performs work for a contractor not covered by the Living 

Wage Law as defined in B(1)(B) above, or B(3) or C below. 
 
      (3)  Contracts involving services needed for the following: 
 

(A) Services with a Public Service Company; 
 
(B) Services with a nonprofit organization; 

 
(C) Services with an officer or other entity that is in the 

Executive Branch of the State government and is authorized 
by law to enter into a procurement  



 (“Unit”); or 
 
(D) Services between a Unit and a County or Baltimore City. 

 
 
C. If the Unit responsible for the State contract determines that application of the 

Living Wage would conflict with any applicable Federal program, the Living 
Wage does not apply to the contract or program.  

 
 
D. A Contractor must not split or subdivide a contract, pay an employee through a 

third party, or treat an employee as an independent contractor or assign work to 
employees to avoid the imposition of any of the requirements of Title 18, State 
Finance and Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 
E. Each Contractor/Subcontractor, subject to the Living Wage Law, shall post in a 

prominent and easily accessible place at the work site(s) of covered employees a 
notice of the Living Wage Rates, employee rights under the law, and the name, 
address, and telephone number of the Commissioner. 

 
F. The Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall adjust the wage rates by the 

annual average increase or decrease, if any, in the Consumer Price Index for all 
urban consumers for the Washington/Baltimore metropolitan area, or any 
successor index, for the previous calendar year, not later than 90 days after the 
start of each fiscal year. The Commissioner shall publish any adjustments to the 
wage rates on the Division of Labor and Industry’s Website. An employer 
subject to the Living Wage Law must comply with the rate requirements during 
the initial term of the contract and all subsequent renewal periods, including any 
increases in the wage rate, required by the Commissioner, automatically upon 
the effective date of the revised wage rate. 

 
G. A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based 

on the employer’s share of the health insurance premium, as provided in §18-
103(c), State Finance and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, 
shall not lower an employee’s wage rate below the minimum wage as set in §3-
413, Labor and Employment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland. A 
Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on 
the employer’s share of health insurance premium shall comply with any record 
reporting requirements established by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry. 

 
H. A Contractor/Subcontractor may reduce the wage rates paid under §18-103(a), 

State Finance and Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland, by no more than 
50 cents of the hourly cost of the employer’s contribution to an employee’s 
deferred compensation plan. A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages 
paid to an employee based on the employer’s contribution to an employee’s 
deferred compensation plan shall not lower the employee’s wage rate below the 



minimum wage as set in §3-413, Labor and Employment Article, Annotated 
Code of Maryland.   

 
I. Under Title 18, State and Finance Procurement Article, Annotated Code of 

Maryland, if the Commissioner determines that the Contractor/Subcontractor 
violated a provision of this title or regulations of the Commissioner, the 
Contractor/Subcontractor shall pay restitution to each affected employee, and 
the State may assess liquidated damages of $20 per day for each employee paid 
less than the Living Wage. 

 
 
 
 
 



 
Affidavit of Agreement 

 Maryland Living Wage Requirements-Service Contracts 
 
Contract No.__050B2400001; 

 STATEWIDE FOREIGN LANGUAGE SERVICES               
 
Name of Contractor________________________________________________ ___ 
 
Address_____________________________________________________________ 
 
City ________________________State _________________Zip Code___________ 
 
   If the Contract is Exempt form the Living Wage Law 
 
The Undersigned, being an authorized representative of the above named Contractor, 
hereby affirms that the Contract is exempt form Maryland’s Living Wage Law for the 
following reasons (check all that apply): 
 
____ Bidder/Offeror is a nonprofit organization 
____ Bidder/Offeror is a public service company 
____ Bidder/Offeror employs 10 or fewer employees and the proposed contract value is 

less than $500,000 
____ Bidder/Offeror employs more than 10 employees and the proposed contract value 

 is less than $100,000 
 
If the Contract is a Living Wage Contract 
 
A. The Undersigned, being an authorized representative of the above named 

Contractor, hereby affirms our commitment to comply with Title18, State Finance 
and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland and, if required, to submit 
all payroll reports to the Commissioner of Labor and Industry with regard to the 
above stated contract.  The Bidder/Offeror agrees to pay covered employees who 
are subject to living wage at least the living rate in effect at the time service is 
provided for hours spend on State contract activities, and to ensure that its 
Subcontractors who are not exempt also pay the required living wage rate to their 
covered employees who are subject to the living wage for hours spent on a State 
contract for services.  The Contractor agrees to comply with, and ensure its 
Subcontractors comply with, the rate requirements during the initial term of the 
contract and all subsequent renewal periods, including any increases in the wage 
rate established by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry, automatically upon 
the effective date of the revised wage rate.      
        

            
   



B. ____ (initial here if applicable) The Bidder/Offeror affirms it has no covered 
employees for the following reasons: (check all that apply):  

 
____ All employee(s) proposed to work on the contract will spend less than one-half of 

the employee’s time during every work week on the State contract; 
____ All employee(s) proposed to work on the contract will be 17 years of age or 

younger during the duration of the contract; or  
____ All employee(s) proposed to work on the contract will work less than 13 

consecutive weeks on the State contract. 
 
The Commissioner of Labor and Industry reserves the right to request payroll records and 
other data that the Commissioner deems sufficient to confirm these affirmations at any 
time. 
 
Name of Authorized 
Representative:_________________________________________________________ 
 
______________________________________________________________________ 
Signature of Authorized Representative                                                Date  
 
Title 
 
Witness Name (Typed or Printed) 
 
_______________________________________________________________________ 
Witness Signature       Date 
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