
      

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

   
          

   
 
 

   
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 
  

ATTACHMENT K – Living Wage Requirements 

Living Wage Requirements for Service Contracts 

A. 	 This contract is subject to the Living Wage requirements under Title 18, State Finance and Procurement 
Article, Annotated Code of Maryland and the regulations proposed by the Commissioner of Labor and 
Industry. The Living Wage generally applies to a Contractor or Subcontractor who performs work on a 
State contract for services that is valued at $100,000 or more. An employee is subject to the Living 
Wage if he/she is at least 18 years old or will turn 18 during the duration of the contract; works at least 
13 consecutive weeks on the State Contract and spends at least one-half of the employee’s time during 
any work week on the State Contract.  The Living Wage Law does not apply to an employee who works 
less than thirteen consecutive weeks and full-time on a contract subject to the Living Wage.  

B. 	 The Living Wage Law does not apply to: 

(1) A Contractor who: 

(A) 	 has a State contract for services valued at less than  $100,000, or 
(B) 	 employs 10 or fewer employees and has a State contract for services valued at less    

than $500,000. 

(2) A Subcontractor who: 

1. performs work on a State contract for services valued at less than $100,000, 

(B) employs 10 or fewer employees and performs work on a State contract for services 
valued at less than $500,000, or 

(C) 	 performs work for a contractor not covered by the Living Wage Law as defined in  
B (1)(B) above, or B(3) or C below. 

(3) Contracts involving services needed for the following: 

(A) 	 Services with a Public Service Company; 

(B) 	 Services with a nonprofit organization; 

(C) 	 Services with an officer or other entity that is in the Executive Branch of 
the State government and is authorized by law to enter into procurement 
(“Unit”); or 

a.	 Services between a Unit and a County or Baltimore City. 



 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

  

 
 
 
 
 

C. 

D. 

E. 

F. 

G. 

H. 

I. 

If the Unit responsible for the State contract determines that application of the Living Wage 
would conflict with any applicable Federal program, the Living Wage does not apply to the 
contract or program. 

A Contractor must not split or subdivide a contract, pay an employee through a third party, or treat an 
employee as an independent contractor or assign work to employees to avoid the imposition of any of 
the requirements of Title 18, State Finance and Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland. 

Each Contractor/Subcontractor, subject to the Living Wage Law, shall post in a prominent and easily 
accessible place at the work site(s) of covered employees a notice of the Living Wage Rates, employee 
rights under the law, and the name, address, and telephone number of the Commissioner. 

The Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall adjust the wage rates by the annual average increase or 
decrease, if any, in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the Washington/Baltimore 
metropolitan area, or any successor index, for the previous calendar year, not later than 90 days after 
the start of each fiscal year. The Commissioner shall publish any adjustments to the wage rates on the 
Division of Labor and Industry’s Website. An employer subject to the Living Wage Law must comply 
with the rate requirements during the initial term of the contract and all subsequent renewal periods, 
including any increases in the wage rate, required by the Commissioner, automatically upon the 
effective date of the revised wage rate. 

A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the employer’s 
share of the health insurance premium, as provided in §18-103(c), State Finance and Procurement 
Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall not lower an employee’s wage rate below the minimum 
wage as set in §3-413, Labor and Employment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland. A 
Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the employer’s share 
of health insurance premium shall comply with any record reporting requirements established by the 
Commissioner of Labor and Industry. 

A Contractor/Subcontractor may reduce the wage rates paid under §18-103(a), State Finance and 
Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland, by no more than 50 cents of the hourly cost of the 
employer’s contribution to an employee’s deferred compensation plan.  A Contractor/Subcontractor 
who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the employer’s contribution to an employee’s 
deferred compensation plan shall not lower the employee’s wage rate below the minimum wage as set 
in §3-413, Labor and Employment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland.   

Under Title 18, State and Finance Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, if the 
Commissioner determines that the Contractor/Subcontractor violated a provision of this title or 
regulations of the Commissioner, the Contractor/Subcontractor shall pay restitution to each affected 
employee, and the State may assess liquidated damages of $20 per day for each employee paid less 
than the Living Wage. 



 
                  

 

 

 

 

 

 
  
  
  

  

 

 

Affidavit of Agreement 
Maryland Living Wage Requirements-Service Contracts 

Contract  No. 	  –  

Name of Contractor _____________________________________________________ 

Address________________________________________________________________ 

City_______________________________ State________ Zip Code_______________ 

If the Contract is Exempt from the Living Wage Law 

The Undersigned, being an authorized representative of the above named Contractor, 
hereby affirms that the Contract is exempt from Maryland’s Living Wage Law for the 
following reasons (check all that apply): 

□	 Bidder/Offeror is a nonprofit organization 
□	 Bidders/Offeror is a public service company 
□	 Bidder/Offeror employs 10 or fewer employees and the proposed contract 

value is less than $500,000 
□	 Bidder/Offeror employs more than 10 employees and the proposed 

contract value is less than $100,000 

If the Contract is a Living Wage Contract 

A. 	 The Undersigned, being an authorized representative of the above named 
Contractor, hereby affirms our commitment to comply with Title 18, State 
Finance and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland and, if required, 
to submit all payroll reports to the Commissioner of Labor and Industry with 
regard to the above stated contract. The Bidder/Offeror agrees to pay covered 
employees who are subject to living wage at least the living wage rate in effect at 
the time service is provided for hours spent on State contract activities, and to 
ensure that its Subcontractors who are not exempt also pay the required living 
wage rate to their covered employees who are subject to the living wage for hours 
spent on a State contract for services.  The Contractor agrees to comply with, and 
ensure its Subcontractors comply with, the rate requirements during the initial 
term of the contract and all subsequent renewal periods, including any increases 
in the wage rate established by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry, 
automatically upon the effective date of the revised wage rate.  
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Affidavit of Agreement (continued)
 
Maryland Living Wage Requirements-Service Contracts 


B. 	 _____________________(initial here if applicable) The Bidder/Offeror affirms it 
has no covered employees for the following reasons: (check all that apply): 

□	 The employee(s) proposed to work on the contract will spend less than 
one-half of the employee’s time during any work week on the contract  

□	 The employee(s) proposed to work on the contract is 17 years of age or 
younger during the duration of the contract; or  

□	 The employee(s) proposed to work on the contract will work less than 13 
consecutive weeks on the State contract. 

The Commissioner of Labor and Industry reserves the right to request payroll records and 
other data that the Commissioner deems sufficient to confirm these affirmations at any 
time.  

Name of Authorized Representative: ______________________________________ 

Signature of Authorized Representative 	 Date 

Title 

Witness Name (Typed or Printed) 

Witness Signature	  Date 


